🛍️ Welcome to Myntra — The ultimate style playground! 💃
As India’s biggest fashion hub, Myntra brings you the trendiest brands and products all under one digital roof. We’re on a mission to make fashion accessible, easy, and seriously enjoyable for shoppers nationwide. From chic essentials to the latest styles, we’ve got everything you need to look and feel fabulous—right at your fingertips! 🤟
⚡Myntra is leading the fashion e-commerce industry reaching a record high of 60 million monthly active users in 2023.
⚡As of September 2024, Myntra's web/app traffic statistics are as follows:
Core Value Proposition
Myntra's core value proposition is its extensive, good quality fashion & lifestyle catalogue with seamless delivery & returns accessible through mobile app.
By integrating these elements, Myntra delivers a user-friendly, trustworthy, and enjoyable online shopping environment, setting it apart in the competitive e-commerce landscape.
To understand which value propositions are important pertaining to each segment, we have divided user segments on two levels:
Each cell ranks the most important value proposition for each segment and the reasons for the ranking.
Natural Frequency | Casual (1-2 times in a year) | Core (Once in a quarter) | Power (Once or more in a month) |
---|---|---|---|
Low AOV (< 1000 INR) | 1. Easy User Interface as not tech savvy. 2. Customer Friendly Logistics & Support Relies on offline shopping for primary needs, difficult to build trust online and therefore requires seamless returns / exchange options. |
Doesn't rely on offline shopping, but needs a diverse catalogue to shop from online. Values seamless returns / exchange options. |
|
Mid AOV (1000-3000 INR) |
Mostly goes offline for shopping. therefore, to build trust quality and delivery is the key. |
Needs diversity for shopping online. Unlimited isle. Willing to spend on fashion. |
Willing to spend on trends. The app should highlight trends & gather influencer picks on a single platform. |
High AOV (>3000 INR) | Mostly goes offline for higher AOV orders. Will order online only for known tried and tested brands. |
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The repeat usage of Myntra can be explained by its CVP.
As detailed above, Myntra's value proposition revolves around the following :
Additionally, Myntra has developed several in-house brands to cater to specific fashion segments:
Myntra also has additional features allowing users to be engaged while using the app.
🛍Sub-Products of Myntra with CVP and Order Frequency
Sub-product | Core value Proposition | Age | Order Frequency |
---|---|---|---|
⏩ FWD GenZ Drip | Myntra FWD aims to deliver a holistic and immersive fashion experience that aligns with the dynamic and individualistic style preferences of Gen Z consumers.
| 18 - 25 | 1-2 Times a quarter |
👕 Everyday | Myntra's "Everyday" sub-product is designed to make fashion accessible and enjoyable for daily wear by offering:
| 18 - 40 | 1-2 times a month |
💎 Luxe |
This sub-product brings high-end fashion closer to India’s discerning shoppers, offering a refined and exclusive shopping experience. | 28 - 40 | 3-4 Times a year |
Engagement Framework | Key Tracking Metric | Selected | Rationale |
---|---|---|---|
Frequency | No. of time product is used in shopping for Fashion needs | ✅ | - No. of times the order is placed |
Depth | - average session time | ✅ | - What is the average session time per user? |
Breadth | No. of sub-products/categories being experienced by users | ✅ | - Which category of product are more explored? |
Who is an active user for myntra ?
An active user would have the following characteristics -
Key engagement criteria
The above table details the key engagement criteria. To sum it up we can define the below engagement criteria
Key Metrics to Track for Active user
Other additional metrics which can be tracked to check for engagement are :
Basis web search the below are user demographics details for Myntra users. (Source: Similarweb)
Questions | ICP 1- Casual | ICP 2 - Core | ICP 3 - Power |
---|---|---|---|
Name | Hardik Goyal | Anshul Chatter | Ishita Thukral |
Age | 34 | 29 | 32 |
Gender | Male | Male | Female |
City | Jaipur | Bangalore | Bangalore |
Marital status | Married | Married | Married |
Kids | 1 | None | None |
Occupation | Customer service | Operations | Sales & Marketing |
Industry | Travel | Electric Vehicle | FMCG |
Income bracket | 50 lakhs+ | 30 Lakhs | 45 lakhs |
LIFESTYLE | |||
Time spend on other than work | Family | Music, Books, Travel, Meeting friends, Spend time with Wife. | With friends, Upskilling, books, Social Media. |
Money spend on | House rent, Groceries, kids | House rent, Groceries, Travels with wife, shopping | Rent, groceries, shopping, commute, Branded clothing, Makeup, Vacations |
Most used Apps | Swiggy, Uber, PhonePe, Insta, Slack, LinkedIn, INDMoney, Kite, Makemytrip, Youtube | Amazon, Uber, Myntra, LinkedIn, Instagram, Whatsapp, Cricbuzz | Netflix, Hotstar, Prime, Amazon, Myntra, Linkedin, Swiggy, Blinkit. |
Paid Subscriptions | LinkedIn, The Ken, Skift | Netflix, Prime, Hotstar, Zomato Gold | None, the family has a common subscription. She stays alone but uses family’s account |
Tech Savvy Level | Low | Medium | High |
Money/ time | Money | Time | Time |
Which kind of blogs, video content do you consume? | Bhajans, informational content, AI latest trends | LinkedIn, YT, Instagram | Sitcoms, healthy diets, fashion content |
ENGAGEMENT | |||
How often do you spend on clothing | Once a quarter | Once in 3 months, and as per requirement | Quite often, Once every month |
What do you consider while buying clothes | Fit & Appearance, Quality | Fit & Appearance, Quality, Comfort | Fit, Trends, Style, quality |
From where do you buy clothes | Offline largely. Rarely online | Amazon, Myntra & sometimes offline | Myntra largely |
Do you use Myntra? | Yes, rarely | Yes | Yes |
Since How many years are you using Myntra | < 2 years | >5 years | >5 years |
Why do you shop on myntra | I don't use it that often, but when I do its largely because i don't have time to go to a mall. | Variety and easy return options | Convenience of home delivery & exchange or return. Good collection, styling tips, great UI |
Whats your fav feature on myntra | None | Easy User Interface | Myntra insider |
What all do you buy on myntra ? | Casuals sometimes | Clothes and accessories | Office & vacation wear |
Average order value on myntra? | 500-1000 | 1000-3000 | 1000-3000, sometimes > 3000 |
For who do you buy on Myntra? | Friends & family | Myself & family | Myself largely |
Are you on myntra insider? | no | yes | yes |
What type of communication do you prefer to receive regarding Myntra's promotions and discounts? | Whatsapp / in app | in app notifications | |
Would you refer myntra over other online shopping alternatives ? | No/ may be | yes | yes |
Which feature do you least value, why | I don't know much features | sub-products like luxe, FWD | Myntra minis |
What will make you/made you leave Myntra | no free delivery | Higher platform fees, less return/exchange window | Delivery fee. No returns / exchanges |
Key pain points | Price sensitive Not tech savvy Prefers offline shopping, as it gives idea about quality better. | Price sensitive Stock availability on other plaforms Return and replacement policies of other apps are not so easy. Needs one stop shop for fashion needs for all family. Doesn;t have time to go out. | Dont have time to go shopping Return and replacement of other fashion websites not there. Needs trendy options at good discounts |
Why do you use other apps apart from myntra for fashion shopping? | I prefer offline shopping | Amazon, because of cheaper options and faster deliveries | Nykaa for makeup as myntra doesn’t have all that assortment. Blissclub has great active wear. The urbanic, souledstore and bewakoof collection is the coolest. |
JTBD for Myntra | Buys clothes for functional needs. Diverse options for functional apparel, at reasonable prices. Bestseller sorting to help select only good quality & most loved items | Good , trendy fashionwear all at one place with hassle free returns / exchanges. | Trendy fashion, works as a personal stylist as well. Faster deliveries with hassle free exchanges / returns. |
Casual | Core | Power | |
---|---|---|---|
Natural Frequency | Low - Once or twice in a year | Medium-Once or twice in 4-5 months | High - Once or more in 2-3 months. |
LTV ( frequency/month * AOV * retention ) | 1* 500* 2 = ₹ 1000 | 1 * 1000* 4 = ₹ 4000 | 1* 2000* 6 = ₹ 12000 |
Top features | Hassle free returns, good price range | Express delivery, Hassle free returns | Sub-products, Variety, Easy UI, Style studio |
Top Categories | Clothing | Clothing, footwear, bags | Clothing, Footwear, bags, accessories, Home decor |
Average session time | 5-10 mins | 10-20 mins | >20 mins |
Price Sensitivity | High | Medium | Medium |
Top Competitors | Amazon, Offline | Amazon, Flipkart, Nykaa, Offline | Ajio, Nykaa Fashion, Tata Cliq, Clothing brand websites |
Parameters | Hibernating | In - Danger | Needs Attention | Loyalist | Champion |
---|---|---|---|---|---|
Recency | 180 Days (6 months) | 120 Days (4 months) | 90 days (3 months) | 30-50 days (1.5 months) | 20 days |
Frequency | 0-1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
Revenue generated %age split | 5% | 10% | 20% | 35% | 30% |
Frequency of other features used / month | 0-1 | 0-1 | 0-2 | 2-4 | 4+ |
Depth of Engagement (avg. session time) | 5 mins | 5-10 mins | 10-15 min | 15-20 mins | >20mins |
Key action score (based on no.of actions done) | 1-2 | 1-3 | 2-4 | 3-5 | 5+ |
Breadth of Engagement (Top features ) | -Checkout -Added to cart | -Added to cart -Wishlisted -saved addresses/ payment modes |
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Breadth of Engagement (Top Categories) | Apparel | Apparel, Accessories | Apparel, footwear, accessories, Beauty | Apparel, footwear, bags, accessories, beauty, home decor, beauty gadgets | Apparel, footwear, bags, accessories, beauty, home decor, beauty gadgets, watches, Luxury garments, Jewellery. |
User type | Casual | Casual | Core | Power | Power |
The goal of a product hook should be to maximize the below
Product Hook should be a feature due to which the user keeps coming back to the product again & again. We have listed some product hooks basis the type of user.
Casual User - User flow
The hook here is the - Return policy of myntra.
User clicks on instagram/google sale Ad |
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|
|
Core User - User flow
The hook here is the - Supercoins Feature.
Any platform currency in such products act as a hook, as the user keeps coming back to the product to use that currency.
Buy daily wear clothes |
|
|
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Power User - User flow
The hook here is the - Myntra Insider Program.
Receives Sale WhatsApp message |
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Increasing frequency & average order value is the core mission, so the engagement campaigns should focus on frequency & depth of engagement. the more time the user spends on the product , the more he / she will explore the diverse catalogue.
Engagement Framework | Key Tracking Metric | Selected | Rationale |
---|---|---|---|
Frequency | No. of time product is used in shopping for Fashion needs | ✅ | - No. of times the order is placed |
Depth | - average session time | ✅ | - What is the average session time per user? |
Breadth | No. of sub-products/categories being experienced by users | ✅ | - Which category of product are more explored? |
Campaigns
The campaigns are targeted towards the core target user segment of casual, core and power. The campaign can target the frequency, breadth and depth. The campaign pitch is created to address the pain points of the segment and eventually leading them to spend time on the platform.
Campaign for Casual user - Solving for frequency
ICP Match : ICP 1 - Hardik Goyal
Major pain points : Price sensitive, Doesn't trust online quality
How Myntra solves for this pain point with the current value proposition : Diverse catalogue at reasonable pricing.
Goal : Increase no. of orders from once a year to atleast 3 times a year.
Pitch & campaign creative :
"We Miss You! 😉 Here's a Little Token of Love ❤️"
Hi [User’s Name]!
We’re excited to welcome you back! As a thank-you for being part of our family, here’s ₹250 just for you!
Use Code: XXXXX
Enjoy up to ₹250 cashback in your Myntra wallet on a minimum purchase of ₹999.
Don’t wait – it’s the perfect time to refresh your wardrobe with styles you love. Happy Shopping! 🛍️
— The Myntra Team 💖
Why this will work?
As this is a price sensitive consumer, the campaign must give discount to entice him. This might lead to few more purchases as long as the discount lasts. Limited offer also suggests a sense of urgency.
Offer : Get 250 off on a purchase of atleast 999/-
Channel : Whatsapp, direct message. As the user is not very tech savvy.
Frequency: Bi-weekly
Timing of Message - 6 PM - 8 pm & on weekends.
success metric - no. of orders placed in a quarter
Other metric - CTR %, avg session time.
Campaign for Core user - Solving for frequency
ICP Match : ICP 2 - Anshul Chatter
Major pain points : Price sensitive, Stock availability on other platforms, Return and replacement policies of other apps are not so easy, Needs one stop shop for fashion needs for all family, Doesn't have time to go out.
How Myntra solves for this pain point with the current value proposition : Diverse catalogue at reasonable pricing. Hassle-free returns.
Goal : Increase number of orders from 2-3 times/6 months to 4-6 times/6 months
Pitch & campaign creative : Myntra Presents: The Blockbuster Returns!🤩 Sale: 50 - 80% OFF😱😎 Releases at midnight!❤️ 🛒Get ready with your carts!
Why this will work : He is a frequent shopper, the campaign must give some discount to nudge him to do a purchase. The title of the campaign is kept to suit his primary pain point, which is "returns".
Offer : 50-80% off.
Channel : Whatsapp, instagram.
Frequency: Twice a week.
Timing of Message - 6 PM - 10 & on weekends.
Success metric - no. of orders placed in a quarter
Other metric - CTR %, avg session time.
Campaign for Core user - Solving for depth
ICP Match : ICP 2 - Anshul Chatter
Major pain points : Price sensitive, Stock availability on other platforms, Return and replacement policies of other apps are not so easy, Needs one stop shop for fashion needs for all family, Doesn't have time to go out, needs a variety of options.
How Myntra solves for this pain point with the current value proposition : Diverse catalogue at reasonable pricing.
Goal : Increase in average order value by 30-50%: convert to power user
Pitch & campaign creative :
The Myntra Pay Day Sale is LIVE 😱
Buy 1, Get 3 FREE on Tees, Shirts & more! 🎉
Valid from 7 PM-Midnight
Date: 1-3 April 🗓
Why this will work: To increase depth of engagement, the campaigns will provide bundled discounts which will prompt the user to buy more items.
Offer : Buy 1, get 3 free.
Channel : Inapp notification, instagram.
Frequency: Twice a week.
Timing of Message - After office hours & on weekends.
Success metric - avg. order value
Other metric - CTR %, avg session time, no. of items/order, avg. items in cart, no. of wishlisted items/session.
Campaign for Core user - Solving for breadth
ICP Match : ICP 2 - Anshul Chatter
Major pain points : Price sensitive, Stock availability on other platforms, Return and replacement policies of other apps are not so easy, Needs one stop shop for fashion needs for all family, Doesn't have time to go out, needs a variety of options.
How Myntra solves for this pain point with the current value proposition : Diverse catalogue at reasonable pricing.
Goal: Increase in the number of categories per order from 1-2/order to 3-4/order
Pitch & campaign creative :
"Make Every Order Count! 🎉 Discover More, Save More!"
Hey [User’s Name]!
Why settle for one or two when you can make it a complete look? ✨ Add some accessories, pair it with footwear, or pick out a top to match those jeans! The more you shop, the better your style – and the bigger your savings!
Exclusive Offer: Enjoy an extra 10% off when you add 3 or more categories to your cart. 🌟
Take your style to the next level with a full ensemble – start shopping and discover all the ways to complete your look!
👉 Shop Now and make your cart count!
Happy Shopping!
— The Myntra Team 💖
Why will this work - This pitch highlights the benefits of adding more categories, introduces a special discount, and positions it as an opportunity to build a complete look.
Offer : Exclusive offer of 10% on adding 3 or more categories to the cart.
Channel : Inapp notification, instagram, whatsapp.
Frequency: weekly once, mostly weekends
Timing of Message - 2 PM- 4 PM
Success metric - avg. order value, avg. no of categories ordered.
Other metric - CTR %, avg session time, no. of items/order, avg. items in cart, no. of wishlisted items/session.
Campaign for Power user - Solving for depth/breadth
ICP Match : ICP 3 - Ishita Thukral
Major pain points : Don't have time to go shopping, Lot of fashion influencers can share links on youtube which is then difficult to match offline, Return and replacement of other fashion websites not there, Needs trendy options at good discounts.
How Myntra solves for this pain point with the current value proposition : Trendy collection through sub-products like FWD GenZ. Express deliveries with assured return payment cycle.
Goal : Increase in average order value by 30-50% or increase in session time by 20%-30%.
Pitch & campaign creative :
"Unlock Your Exclusive Insider Perks! 🌟"
As a valued Myntra Insider, you’re in for something special! 🎉 We’re thrilled to bring you exclusive offers across all your favorite fashion elements:
Browse, shop, and make the most of these Insider benefits! With so many exclusive offers across categories, it’s your time to indulge in the ultimate shopping experience. Stay stylish, stay privileged, and enjoy your perks!
👉 Open the App Now to explore your exclusive Insider world!
— The Myntra Team 💖
Why this would work: The pitch has to convey perks specifically for myntra insiders. The user should feel privileged to be part of this loyalty program. Giving them offers on multiple fashion elements in the app would guarantee higher time spent on the app.
Offer : Myntra insider membership.
Channel : Inapp notification, whatsapp.
Frequency: Once a week.
Timing of Message - 6PM - 9 PM.
Success metric - Avg. order value
Other metric - CTR %, avg session time, no. of items/order, avg. items in cart, no. of wishlisted items/session.
Retention
A realistic customer retention rate is between 25%-30% for an E-commerce business. Myntra has 60 million Monthly active users and 250 million total registered users. Retention rate for Myntra = 25%.
Myntra was formed in 2008. The retention curve is likely to increase during the start and remain flat in the long term in 2023. The fluctuations in the retention rates can occur whenever positive or negative events occur like :
A sample retention curve for myntra from 2008 would be like the below
Which ICPs drive the most retention ?
Which channels drive the most retention ?
Basis the user interviews channels driving most retention on myntra are as under -
Features / sub-products driving best retention
Churn
Churned users are those who used to be active but have not used the app for the last 18 months. Considering 18 months, as hibernating users are the ones who atleast place one order in 1 year.
Voluntary & involuntary churn is listed below
Voluntary | Involuntary |
---|---|
Doesn't like the catalogue at myntra | Pincode is not serviceable |
Delayed deliveries | Lack of money |
No returns or chargeable returns | Offline purchase only, doesn't use app for fashion purchases. |
No customer support available | Don't have touchphone |
Quality issues with the products. Price is too high | |
Wrong product delivered | |
slow app, or getting crashed frequently | |
Too many confusing features, complex UI | |
Fitment issues with majority garments | |
No branded assortment |
Actions indicated by churning users
User segment - Power user
Goal - Increase repeat purchases
Pitch - Your cart misses you!!! Enjoy an exclusive Elite insider discount of 10% on your next purchase. Discover latest trends and find your perfect style. Happy Shopping!
Creative
Offer : 10% off
Channel : Whatsapp , push notification
Frequency: Once in two weeks
Timing: 40 days after user has made the purchase.
Success metrics : Conversion rate for this discount.
Explanation of why the campaign is designed and why it will work if stated: The user is a regular user, but needs a nudge to do a repeat purchase. giving some offer as a bait will work, as the CVP of the app is already appreciated by the user.
User segment - Erstwhile Power user moved to core user (Having abandoned carts)
Goal - Increase app engagement and reduce churn among price sensitive audience
Pitch -
"Your Style Awaits! 👗👖
Hey there! We noticed you left some fabulous finds behind. Don't let your perfect look slip away! 🎉
For a limited time, enjoy an extra 15% off your cart. Complete your purchase and treat yourself to the style you deserve!
🔹 Shop Now and rediscover the items you loved 🔹 Exclusive offers just for you 🔹 Fast, free delivery and easy returns
Come back and give your wardrobe the update it’s been waiting for. Happy Shopping! 🛍️
— The Myntra Team 💖"
Offer : 15% off
Channel : Whatsapp , push notification
Frequency: After cart abandonment
Timing: within 24 hours of abandonment
Success metrics : Conversion rate for this discount.
Explanation of why the campaign is designed and why it will work if stated: The User might have abandoned the cart because he might be comparing options on other platforms or simply forgotten to place the order. Giving him a discount and nudging him with a notification might lead to the purchase.
User segment - Casual user (Stopped ordering after a delayed delivery)
Goal - Increase satisfaction among users who have experienced delayed deliveries
Pitch -
Dear *user name*
"We’re Sorry for the Delay! 🌟 Your style deserves better 🌹
We know waiting for your order wasn't ideal, and we apologize for the delay. To thank you for your patience, enjoy an exclusive BOGO offer on your next purchase! 🛍️
We’re working to improve delivery times and keep you updated with real-time tracking.
Shop Now – because you deserve the best!
— Myntra Team 💖"
Offer : Buy one get one
Channel : Whatsapp , push notification
Frequency: After delayed delivery
Timing: within 24 hours of delayed delivery
Success metrics : Conversion rate for this discount.
Explanation of why the campaign is designed and why it will work if stated: Giving a BOGO and sending a personalized note with the user's name is going to nudge the user to open it.
User segment - New user, who has signed up, added product to cart but didn't make a purchase.
Goal - Reduce churn among new users and drive early engagement
Pitch -
"Welcome to Myntra! Your First Step to Fabulous Style Awaits 🎉"
Hey [User’s Name]! We’re excited to see you’ve found something you like! Don’t let it slip away – complete your first order with us and enjoy a Myntra Insider one month membership just for new users. 🛍️
Here’s what you get:
Finish your order now and make the most of your Myntra journey! Tap below to claim your discount and experience the convenience of shopping with Myntra.
👉 Shop Now
Happy Shopping!
— The Myntra Team 💖
Offer : Free myntra insider membership
Channel : Whatsapp , push notification, email
Frequency: After signing up
Timing: within 24 hours of signing up
Success metrics : Conversion rate for this offer.
Explanation of why the campaign is designed and why it will work if stated: The new user is getting use to the platform. He is hesitating to place his order because of certain issues like product authenticity, the platform’s UX, Fit issues, or price sensitivity. Nudging them with an insider membership would make them feel special and also make them experience the value proposition of being an insider.
User segment - Core user who has given a -ve review / rating for his recent purchase.
Goal - Increase customer satisfaction and reduce negative review.
Pitch-
"Hi [User’s Name]!
We’re really sorry your recent experience didn’t meet your expectations.
To make it up to you, enjoy a 15% discount on your next purchase! 😊
Your satisfaction is our priority, and we’re here to ensure a better experience for you. Please reach out if there’s anything more we can do. Thank you for giving us another chance!
Happy Shopping! 👗
— The Myntra Team 💖"
Offer : 15% discount
Channel : Whatsapp , push notification, email
Frequency: After negative review
Timing: within 24 hours of negative review
Success metrics : Conversion rate for this offer.
Explanation of why the campaign is designed and why it will work if stated: He wants his concerns to be solved. Along with solving it, Showing the user that Myntra cares for him, through a personalised message and wants to convey this in form of discounts. This will create a positive impact on the brand value of Myntra. Leading to further possibilities of user coming back and placing order.
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